Newark Town Band

By the 1990s there were just a few loyal members left trying hard to keep the Band going.  These were the late Mr Ronald James, the late Mr Ronald Cunnington (Euphonium), the late Mr William Schedler (Eb Bass and Band Secretary), the late Mr Paul Francis (Tenor Horn and Band Treasurer), Mr Guy Addock (Cornet), the late Mr John Moore MBE (President, Chairman, Tenor Horn), Miss Susan Robinson – Marsh (Cornet), Miss Hazel Robinson (Tenor Horn) and Mr Roger Bryan (Cornet).  

At Christmas time 2001 the band had lots of engagements to fulfil, unfortunately the Musical Director (Mr Ronald James) became seriously ill.  With no one to conduct the band, Paul Francis and his wife Ivy Francis contacted Mr Peter Footitt who agreed to go along and conduct the band.  During his ten years at the helm Peter completely rejuvenated the Band taking it from a few members to a full complement of players.  This provided an excellent platform from which his replacement, Mr Derek Lusby continued to build before handing over again to Peter Footitt before he finally hung up his baton.  The Band was Directed by James Brincat-Smith for approximately 12 months before a further change of MD.  The Band is now under the baton of our latest Musical Director, Mr Rupert Trippet.